使用FPGA進行半導體ATE的格式和時序生成

ATE數字系統傳統上由定序器,格式器,定時發生器和引腳電子組成。有關在設計的每個部分中使用哪些組件的決定,主要取決於性能規格和所需的成本。這些組件包括分立的,完全定制的ASIC,現場可編程門陣列或市售部件。

現場可編程門陣列(FPGA)具有靈活性,已被用於中低性能ATE數字子系統的定序器和定時/格式化。

用FPGA實現定序器可以靈活地定制數字子系統,以進行邏輯,存儲器或混合信號測試。通常,所需的FPGA時鐘完全在目標FPGA的規格之內。與競爭對手的產品相比,定序器和模式執行階段通常使每個系統都與眾不同。

在不同的ATE平台之間,格式和計時功能通常相似。差異在於週期到週期的邊緣放置分辨率和精度,以及用於通道偏移校正的精細偏移控制。引腳電子IC中通常可以使用精細的去歪斜控制。

FPGA已經成功地用於定時和格式功能,但是隨著系統性能要求增加到50-100Mhz模式速率以上以及系統邊緣放置精度降至1ns以下,FPGA迅速成為限制因素。儘管FPGA I / O結構中的SERDES引擎可以提供<100ps的分辨率,但實現這種邊到邊時序放置的可靠性增加了設計時間,並促使設計人員選擇更大,更昂貴的FPGA。

SERDES模塊最常見的用法是用於各種通信協議,例如PCIe,而FPGA設計工具提供了出色的工具來設計和表徵這些功能。在使用這些SERDES模塊設計時序部分時,設計人員經常遇到障礙,FPGA供應商提供的有限工具可以解決問題。設計人員通常花費10倍的預算工程時間來實現和表徵這些時序電路。典型的問題包括:通道之間的線性不一致,高於可接受的抖動以及難以在每次運行之間進行設計佈線。

當設計人員試圖增加通道數時,需要將其遷移到更大,更昂貴的FPGA。過去,設計人員能夠以更低的成本利用更快,更大的FPGA。然而,最近,FPGA公司的重點一直是提高計算能力,以解決數據中心和人工智能市場。增加更多計算元素增加了成本,給ATE設計人員帶來了最小的好處或負面的影響。此外,服務於ATE市場的舊設備的成本已經開始急劇上升,尤其是對於大型設備。這將使用較大的FPGA的較高通道ATE的成本提高到僅針對FPGA的$50 /通道。

為了以200+ MHz的碼率實現更高性能的ATE,ATE設計人員需要使用定制的或商用的格式和定時發生器IC。然後,他們可以將合理成本的FPGA用於設計的定序器部分。

商業上可用的時序發生器將為較小的ATE公司提供在數字ATE儀器中提升性能階梯的能力。這些芯片旨在與高性能引腳驅動器接口,而無需過度約束的FPGA I / O。

通過購買具有高端性能的定時芯片,這將減少設計,表徵和測試時間,並降低每通道成本,同時提供更高性能的數字ATE規格。時序精度由供應商指定,不需要在系統測試時對這些參數進行廣泛的表徵和生產測試。

商業計時芯片將最終節省ATE公司的開發成本,上市時間以及系統的整體成本,同時提供一條通往更高端性能的途徑。

發表評論

你的電子郵件位址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *

Chinese
English Japanese Korean Chinese
滾動到頂部

提升產品選擇指南

點擊下方下載我們最新的產品選擇指南。

神秘

SOC Octal 500 MHz集成引腳電子/ DAC / PPMU /偏移校正

下載請求。請填寫下面的請求以接收我們的神秘數據表。

Europa ISL55180
PDF數據表

謝謝你填寫我們的表格。點擊下面的按鈕下載我們的PDF數據表。

Using FPGA for Format and Timing Generation for Semiconductor ATE

ATE digital systems traditionally consist of sequencers, formatters, timing generators and pin electronics. The decision about which components to use for each section of the design is primarily driven by performance specifications and cost desired. These components range from discrete, fully custom ASIC, Field Programmable Gate Array or commercially available parts.

Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGA) provide flexibility and have been used for the sequencer and timing/formatting for low to medium performance ATE digital subsystems.

Implementing the sequencer with an FPGA provides flexibility to customize the digital subsystem for logic, memory or mixed signal test. The FPGA clocking required is typically well within the specifications of the target FPGA. The sequencer and pattern execution stages are typically what make each system unique compared to the competitors offering.

The format and timing functionality are typically similar amongst different ATE platforms. The differences are in the cycle to cycle edge placement resolution and accuracy as well as the fine skew control used for channel deskew calibration. The fine deskew control is often available in the pin electronics ICs.

FPGAs have been successfully used for the timing and format function, but the FPGA quickly becomes the limiting factor as the system performance requirements increase to above 50-100Mhz pattern rates and as the system edge placement accuracy is pushed below 1ns. While the SERDES engines in the FPGA I/O structures can provide <100ps resolution, implementing this reliability for edge to edge timing placement increases the design time and pushes the designer to choose larger and more expensive FPGA.

The most common usage of the SERDES blocks are for various communications protocols such as PCIe and the FPGA design tools provide excellent tools for designing and characterizing these functions. Designers often run into roadblocks when designing the timing section using these SERDES blocks and there are limited tools available from FPGA vendors to resolve issues. Designers often spend 10X the budgeted engineering hours implementing and characterizing these timing circuits. Typical issues include: inconsistent linearity from channel to channel, higher than acceptable jitter, and difficulty routing the design from run to run.

As designers attempt to increase the channel count they are required to migrate to larger and more expensive FPGAs. In the past, designers have been able to capitalize on faster and larger FPGAs at lower costs. In recent times, however, the focus of FPGA companies has been to increase compute capabilities to address the data center and artificial intelligence markets. This addition of more compute elements has increased the costs with minimal or negative benefits to the ATE designer. In addition, the costs of older devices that serve the ATE market have started going up dramatically especially for larger devices. This has pushed the cost for higher channel ATE using larger FPGAs up to $50/channel just for the FPGA.

To achieve higher performance ATE with pattern rates of 200+ MHz, ATE designers need to use custom or commercially available format and timing generator ICs. They are then able to use a reasonable cost FPGA for the sequencer portion of the design.

A commercially available timing generator would provide smaller ATE companies to migrate up the performance ladder in digital ATE instrumentation. These chips are designed to be interfaced to high performance pin drivers without requiring an over constrained FPGA I/O.

By purchasing timing chips with high end performance this would reduce the design, characterization and test times as well as reducing the cost per channel while offering higher performance digital ATE specifications. The timing accuracy is specified by the vendor and does not require extensive characterization and production testing of these parameters at system test.

Commercial timing chips will ultimately save an ATE company development cost and time to market as well as overall cost of the system, while providing a path to higher end performance.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

English
Chinese Japanese Korean English
Scroll to Top

ElevATE Product Selection Guide

Click below to download our latest product selection guide.

Mystery

SOC Octal 500 MHz Integrated Pin Electronics/DAC/PPMU/Deskew

Download request. Please fill in the request below to receive our Mystery Datasheet.

Europa ISL55180
PDF DataSheet

Thanks for filling out our form. Click on the button below to download our PDF Datasheet.