自動測試設備市場(ATE)今天

用於引腳電子器件(PE)的典型集成電路(IC)解決方案已由多個半導體公司以多種不同的工藝技術提供。多年來,支持單個待測器件(DUT)所有功能的典型芯片組包括雙極性,互補雙極性,BiCMOS,SiGe BICMOS,CMOS,HV CMOS和GaAs,以及現場可編程門數組(FPGA)。用於不同ATE功能的這些不同技術中的每一種都是單獨包裝的。這導致ATE的解決方案佔用了大量的電路板空間,以及大量的功耗和成本,以及處理通道熱設計的相關散熱的困難。這對通道的電路板尺寸產生了限制,並限制了可以並行測試的器件數量,這會影響$ /器件的測試時間。這也是成本和電力問題。新的先進CMOS技術為ATE提供了範例轉換。 CMOS可以在單個芯片上提供高水平的集成,大量通道,並且功耗和成本更低。集成在CMOS中的能力還將能夠並行測試多個器件,從而減少每個DUT的測試時間和測試成本。這種趨勢是由CMOS的新獨特工藝特徵引發的,這使得這種新型ATE成為可能。較小的通道尺寸,較低的成本和功率以及並行測試的多個DUT是以前沒有利用CMOS工藝技術發展的概念。今天,您可以在PXI儀器卡上安裝64個高速數字通道,在典型的儀器卡上安裝192個通道。這種通道密度水平可以並行測試多達32,64或數百個DUT。

矽雙極技術歷來用於ATE引腳電子集成電路。這是因為需要針對引腳的大電壓擺動,並且較舊的雙極技術中的雙極晶體管的擊穿電壓可以支持這些要求。近年來,矽鍺(SiGe)BiCMOS技術也被考慮用於PE。 SiGe技術中有多種雙極器件類型,可以在擊穿電壓和器件FT之間進行權衡。此外,SiGe雙極型器件的發射極特徵尺寸允許將多個PE通道集成到同一個芯片上,以及一些CMOS支持電路用於引腳電子元件的控制。這是因為能夠利用SiGe BiCMOS技術中的CMOS器件,通道長度為0.35 mm至0.18 mm。


Mystery:SOC Octal 500 MHz Pin Driver

目前,對於支持板級產品的引腳電子產品,針對汽車等市場,以及用於測試當前和未來的SOC,針對許多新興市場的大批量市場,使用先進的ATE,成本仍需考慮雙極性每個頻道($ /頻道)已經成為這些新測試平台的一個問題,CMOS已成為雙極的競爭對手,原因有很多。 ATE電子設備的當前和未來驅動力是降低ATE中的$ /通道以及每個通道的物理板尺寸,這對於雙極或SiGe BiCMOS來說是一個困難的主張。模擬混合信號CMOS技術節點繼續向下驅動,以及相關的擊穿電壓,但是為這些技術增加了一些專用器件,例如可變漏極器件,可實現具有高擊穿電壓(HV)的模擬混合信號CMOS器件,允許在模擬混合信號CMOS中包含引腳電子器件。目前的高壓設備支持> 30V擊穿,這將演變為> 50V。目前的PE CMOS解決方案正在從180納米遷移到65納米,隨著該技術節點的減少,高壓設備的能力正在提高。   

ATE支持電子設備本身正在成為SOC,其中許多功能的集成在特定工藝中曾經是獨立的封裝器件,例如時序生成,現在能夠包含在具有高集成度的CMOS工藝中。將模擬和數字ATE功能集成到單個SOC中的能力提供了減小ATE的尺寸和成本的機會。此外,所有信號處理和數字校準都可以包含在芯片上,這將使設備更易於部署。目前在FPGA中實現定時發生器(TG)的ATE客戶現在有機會將此功能包含在包含PE的定制SOC中。此集成機會提供了在與PE相同的SOC上具有客戶特定TG IP的能力。與當前的FPGA解決方案相比,TG將為客戶提供更高的分辨率,更低的抖動以及更高的可編程性和靈活性。利用CMOS節點縮放,這也可以降低電路板上的美元/通道,降低功耗和占用空間。      

通過考慮利用HV CMOS器件來替換板上經典分立器件的功能,也可以實現ATE板尺寸的減小。這些CMOS HV器件還具有多個柵極,可以通過已知的設計技術利用這些柵極來支持大電壓擺動。 HV設備還可以將ATE功能(例如參數測量單元(PMU)和設備電源(DPS))集成在與PE和TG相同的SOC上,並支持單個芯片上的多個通道。因此,模擬混合信號CMOS技術通過集成多種器件類型來推動通道尺寸和成本的降低,這些器件類型歷來是分立表面貼裝(SMT)器件和不同工藝技術中的單獨封裝器件。隨著HV CMOS器件的頻率性能不斷提高,CMOS將有更多的機會與雙極和SiGe技術相媲美,取代ATE中歷史上兩極的功能。目前HV CMOS可支持> 200-400 MBps引腳電子設備。隨著模擬混合信號CMOS工藝的發展,這將演變為2-4 GBps,PE通道的數量超過8個。每個通道的電路板尺寸是一個關鍵考慮因素。所有可通過HV CMOS和小型幾何CMOS器件的集成而集成的功能都可以利用這項技術來實現。這將理想地導致具有大值電容器和CMOS SOC的電路板,並且這將電路板尺寸縮小到可能的最終物理極限。   

在提高通道密度方面,模擬混合信號CMOS提供的通道密度從每個芯片2個通道增加到每個芯片最常見的8個通道,每通道功耗比同類雙極產品低2到4倍。 CMOS技術節點的減少將實現更小的封裝,更低的功耗,更高的集成度和更低的成本。所有這些因素都將有助於減少CMOS將提供的雙極無法與之競爭的渠道。此外,當前的CMOS設計可以移植到較低節點,同時降低開發成本和生產成本。利用先進的模擬混合信號CMOS可以為ATE客戶開發SOC解決方案,從而降低最終ATE產品的成本/通道成本。隨著CMOS技術節點的不斷縮小,ATE的未來正在測試具有更高引腳數和更高速度的SOC。為了應對這些挑戰,需要ATE芯片解決方案與時俱進。對於PE而言,這是一個明顯的自然進步,並且支持ATE功能也可以縮小以便跟上。有機會實現這一趨勢,並繼續沿著這條道路前進,提供獨特的ATE解決方案,以更低的功率提供高速ATE解決方案,同時減少$ / channel和隨附的電路板空間。基於此實現的獨特ATE SOC解決方案可以為您的公司提供,並允許您提供在ATE市場中作為鑑別器的解決方案。    

發表評論

你的電子郵件位址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *

Chinese
English Japanese Korean Chinese
滾動到頂部

提升產品選擇指南

點擊下方下載我們最新的產品選擇指南。

神秘

SOC Octal 500 MHz集成引腳電子/ DAC / PPMU /偏移校正

下載請求。請填寫下面的請求以接收我們的神秘數據表。

Europa ISL55180
PDF數據表

謝謝你填寫我們的表格。點擊下面的按鈕下載我們的PDF數據表。

Automatic Test Equipment Market (ATE) Today

Typical integrated circuit (IC) solutions for pin electronics (PE) have been provided by multiple semiconductor companies in multiple different process technologies. Over the years, a typical chipset in support of all the functionality for a single device-under-test (DUT) has included bipolar, complementary bipolar, BiCMOS, SiGe BICMOS, CMOS, HV CMOS, and GaAs, as well as field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs). Each of these different technologies used for a different ATE function is packaged separately. This has led to solutions for ATE that take up a significant amount of board space, as well as a significant amount of power dissipation and cost, and the difficulties of dealing with the associated heat removal for the thermal design of a channel. This has produced limitations in the board size of a channel and limited the number of devices that can be tested in parallel, which impacts the $ / device test time. This has also been a cost and power problem. New advanced CMOS technologies provides a paradigm shift in ATE. CMOS can provide high levels of integration, large numbers of channels on a single die, and lower power and cost. The ability to integrate in CMOS will also enable the ability to test multiple devices in parallel, thus reducing test time and test cost per DUT. This trend has been initiated by new unique process features for CMOS which enables this new type of ATE. Smaller channel size, lower cost and power, and multiple DUTs tested in parallel are concepts that previously without taking advantage of the CMOS process technology evolution. Today you can fit 64 high speed digital channels on PXI instrument card and 192+ channels on a typical instrument card. This level of channel density enables testing of as many as 32, 64 or hundreds of DUT’s in parallel.

Silicon bipolar technology has been used historically for ATE pin electronics integrated circuits. This was the result of the fact that large voltage swings for the pins are needed, and the breakdown voltage of the bipolar transistor in older bipolar technologies could support these requirements. In recent years, silicon germanium (SiGe) BiCMOS technologies has also been considered for PE. There are multiple bipolar device types in SiGe technologies which allow the trade-off between breakdown voltage and device FT. Additionally, the emitter feature sizes for the SiGe bipolar device allow for more than one PE channel to be integrated onto the same die as well as some CMOS support circuitry for the controls for the pin electronics. This is the result of being able to take advantage of CMOS devices in SiGe BiCMOS technologies with channels lengths of 0.35 mm down to 0.18 mm.


Mystery: SOC Octal 500 MHz Integrated Pin Electronics

Currently, bipolar is still a consideration for pin electronics in support of board level products, for markets such as automotive, but for testing of current and future SOCs, for a number of new and emerging high volume markets, using advanced ATE, where the cost per channel ($ / channel) has become an issue for these new test platforms, CMOS has become a competitor for bipolar for a number of reasons. The current and future drive for ATE electronics is to reduce the $ / channel, as well as the physical board size per channel in the ATE, and this is a difficult proposition with either bipolar or SiGe BiCMOS. Analog mixed signal CMOS technology nodes continue to be driven downwards, along with associated breakdown voltages, but the addition of some specialty devices to these technologies, such as variable drain devices, which enable analog mixed signal CMOS devices with high breakdown voltages (HV), allow the possibility of the inclusion of pin electronics in analog mixed signal CMOS. Current HV devices support > 30V breakdown, and this will evolve to > 50V. Current PE CMOS solutions are migrating from 180 nm to 65 nm, and the HV device capability is increasing with this technology node reduction.   

The ATE support electronics are becoming SOCs themselves, with the integration of many functions that used to be separate packaged devices in specialty processes, such as timing generation, are now being able to be included in CMOS processes with high levels of integration. The ability to integrate analog and digital ATE functions into a single SOC provides the opportunity to reduce the size and cost of the ATE. Additionally, all of the signal processing and digital calibration can be included on-chip which will make the devices easier to deploy. ATE customers that currently have timing generators (TG) implemented in FPGAs now have the opportunity to include this functionality in a custom SOC that includes the PE. This integration opportunity provides the ability to have customer-specific TG IP on the same SOC as the PE. The TG will be higher resolution, lower jitter, and have more programmability and flexibility for the customer than the current FPGA solutions. Taking advantage of CMOS node scaling, this also leads to lower $ / channel, lower power, and a smaller footprint on the board.      

This push towards the reduction of board size for ATEs is also enabled by the consideration of utilizing the HV CMOS devices to replace functions that have been classically discrete devices on the boards. These CMOS HV devices also have multiple gates, which can be taken advantage of through known design techniques to support large voltage swings. The HV device also enables the integration of ATE functions such as the parametric measurement unit (PMU) and the device power supply (DPS) on the same SOC as the PE and the TG and support many channels on a single die. Thus, analog mixed signal CMOS technology is driving towards reduction of channel size and cost through the integration of multiple device types that have historically been discrete surface mount (SMT) devices and separate packaged devices in different process technologies. As the frequency performance of the HV CMOS devices continue to increase, there will be more opportunities for CMOS to rival and replace bipolar and SiGe technologies for functions in the ATE that have been historically bipolar. Currently HV CMOS can support > 200-400 MBps pin electronics. This will evolve to 2-4 GBps with analog mixed signal CMOS process evolution, with the numbers of PE channels exceeding 8. Board size per channel is a critical consideration. All functions that can be integrated through the leverage of the HV CMOS and the smaller geometry CMOS devices can take advantage of this technology to do. This will ideally result in a board with large valued capacitors and CMOS SOCs, and this shrinks the board size to the ultimate physical limits possible.   

In terms of improving channel density, analog mixed signal CMOS has provided an increase in channel density from 2 channels per chip to most commonly 8 channels per chip with the per channel power dissipation dropping by 2X to 4X lower than comparable bipolar products. The reduction in CMOS technology nodes will enable smaller packaging, lower power dissipation, higher levels of integration, and lower cost. All of these factors will contribute to a reduction in the $ / channel that CMOS will provide that bipolar will not be able to compete with. Additionally, current CMOS designs can be ported to lower nodes at a reduction in development costs as well as production cost. The utilization of advanced analog mixed signal CMOS can be used to develop SOC solutions for ATE customers that will provide a reduction in $ / channel cost for the final ATE product. The future of ATE is testing SOCs with higher pin counts and higher speeds, as the CMOS technology nodes continue to shrink. In order to meet these challenges, ATE chip solutions are needed that keep pace. It is an obvious natural progression for the PE and supporting ATE functions to shrink as well to keep up. There is the opportunity to realize this trend and continue down this path to provide unique ATE solutions that provide high speed ATE solutions at lower power, while reducing $ / channel and accompanying board space. Unique ATE SOC solutions can provided based on this realization to your company and allow you to provide a solution that is a discriminator in the ATE marketplace.    

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

English
Chinese Japanese Korean English
Scroll to Top

ElevATE Product Selection Guide

Click below to download our latest product selection guide.

Mystery

SOC Octal 500 MHz Integrated Pin Electronics/DAC/PPMU/Deskew

Download request. Please fill in the request below to receive our Mystery Datasheet.

Europa ISL55180
PDF DataSheet

Thanks for filling out our form. Click on the button below to download our PDF Datasheet.