5G測試涉及的挑戰

介紹

即將大規模推出5G技術給PCB,網絡設備和電子設備的設計人員提出了新的艱鉅挑戰。 5G不僅代表著數據速率的提高,而且將是一次真正的革命,它將延遲時間縮短至1ms,並使用毫米波(mmWave)來支持更大的帶寬。 5G移動和網絡設備的PCB必須能夠同時管理更高的數字數據速率和更高的頻率,從而將混合信號設計推向極限。 5G應用還將為開發自動化測試設備(ATE)的工程師帶來各種新挑戰。與當前的4G移動網絡相比,5G的推出將迫使設計者重新考慮在移動設備,數據傳輸網絡和IoT基礎設施中使用的PCB的佈局。確保電路板上每個點的信號完整性是5G測試所面臨的最困難的挑戰之一。由於存在混合信號,因此有必要防止電路板的模擬部分和數字部分之間出現EMI,並驗證是否滿足FCC EMC要求。

5G功能對測試的影響

從4G到5G網絡的過渡不僅將大大提高數據傳輸速率和更大的帶寬可用性,而且還將引入旨在徹底改變我們生活許多方面的新功能。 5G網絡旨在提供10-20倍的更快數據速率(最高1 Gbps),流量最多增加1000倍,每平方公里的連接數最多增加10倍。延遲將非常低,約為1毫秒,比4G網絡的延遲低約十倍。低延遲對於實現具有實時行為的應用程序至關重要,例如虛擬現實和增強現實(VR / AR),機器對機器(M2M)通信系統和自動駕駛汽車基礎設施傳感器。

5G網絡將在比以前的移動技術更寬的頻率範圍內運行。用於移動設備和網絡設備的印刷電路將必須同時管理高速數字信號和高頻RF信號,從而將混合信號設計推向極限。儘管4G網絡使用600 MHz至5.925 GHz之間的頻率,但5G網絡將大大擴展其上限頻率,從而將自身推向毫米波(mmWave)頻段。每通道帶寬也是影響5G PCB和設備設計和測試的重要因素。在4G網絡中,每個通道的帶寬等於20 MHz(在IoT設備中限制為200 kHz),而在第五代移動網絡中,對於6 GHz以下的頻率,每個通道的帶寬等於100 MHz,對於頻率,則為400 MHz高於6 GHz。

專為5G應用設計的PCB將需要能夠在很高的頻率和數據速率下工作的模擬和數字組件,其可靠性和效率只有通過有效的散熱管理才能保證。因此,溫度監控是評估PCB或設備正確行為的另一個相關因素。

5G設備測試

5G技術提出的性能要求將在集成電路,片上系統(SoC),PCB,移動設備和網絡設備的測試中帶來前所未有的挑戰。大多數5G NR(新無線電)安裝將使用3.5 GHz頻率和28 GHz至29 GHz頻率範圍。這兩個頻率範圍對於蜂窩網絡來說都是新的,將需要對無線電接入技術進行架構更改和修改。要實現更大的網絡容量和更高的傳輸數據速率,將需要使用先進的技術,例如大規模MIMO(多輸入/多輸出)和波束成形。

儘管仍處於部署的早期階段,但5G技術正在蓬勃發展,引發了有關如何以及以何種成本測試用於不同RF前端模塊架構和網絡設備的mmWave設備的緊迫問題。此外,毫米波信號實質上在視線方向上傳播,比6 GHz以下的頻段更容易受到大氣衰減的影響,因此需要執行能夠涵蓋所有操作場景的精確測試。支持諸如波束成形等高級功能的相控陣天線將受益於其小巧的尺寸,可以在同一PCB上安裝多個天線元件。主要挑戰將是減少天線與接收側的低噪聲放大器(LNA)之間以及功率放大器與發送側之間的寄生關係。還必須使用OTA(空中下載)技術在天線上測試是否滿足要求。毫米波的使用將給測試系統帶來新的挑戰。首先,有必要減小將測試硬件和冷卻系統與探頭環境分隔開的距離,以最小化在毫米波頻率下產生的特別高的功率損耗。此外,考慮到在某些情況下,只有在測試系統和DUT之間進行無線通信,帶集成天線的測試板和模塊將需要不同的方法。

ATE工具

隨著新一代移動技術的發展,所需合規性測試的複雜性呈指數級增長。 3GPP的版本14(已經包含一些5G之前的功能)指定了大約15,000個測試,版本15(部分5G)指定了300,000個測試,而版本16(完整的5G)將引入其他測試。隨著所需測試數量的增加,對自動測試系統的需求也增加了,該系統能夠支持高頻和高速且易於配置。自動化測試設備(ATE)對於確保5G網絡實施中使用的PCB,SoC或單個組件的正常運行至關重要。

ElevATE Semiconductor是一家領先的公司,提供世界一流的測試集成電路(IC),以解決業界最複雜的ATE挑戰。設計先進的芯片,ElevATE可提供最高密度,最低功耗的ATE解決方案。根據產品所基於的技術,ElevATE產品可以分為四個主要類別:

  • 集成引腳電子產品– ElevATE是低功耗,高密度集成引腳電子產品的市場領導者。這些產品採用純CMOS技術開發,使客戶能夠開發下一代高密度儀器,並提高並行性,從而降低成本並提高系統可靠性。
  • 集成的DPS產品–這些被測設備(DUT)電源解決方案包含多達8個獨立的DUT電源單元(DPS)。接口,控制和I / O是數字的,而所有模擬電路都在芯片內部。單個芯片能夠提供完整的DPS解決方案;
  • 集成的PMU / VI產品–參數測量單元和虛擬儀器可提供同類最佳的密度,每個芯片高達8個通道,電壓高達60V。 PMI和VI產品是對成本敏感的解決方案,可為多種應用提供電壓和電流源以及測量功能;
  • 集成的高壓產品–這些產品基於高度集成的雙通道寬電壓片上系統(SoC)引腳電子解決方案,結合了每個通道在自動通道上所需的所有模擬功能以及一些數字支持功能測驗設備。

在ElevATE產品組合解決方案中,有Venus 4(ISL55161),這是一種高度集成的SoC,集成了 雙通道400MHz / 800Mbps引腳電子差分驅動器和比較器,有源負載,定時去偏斜,PMU和DAC。可用於 SoC採用64引線10mm x 10mm TQFP,採用64引線9mmx9mm QFN封裝,在11V工作電壓下,Pdq≤500mW /通道。

金星4

圖1:金星4(ISL55161)

該SoC的框圖如圖2所示,特別適合諸如自動測試設備(ATE),儀器和ASIC驗證器之類的應用。

金星設計

圖2:金星4方框圖

發表評論

你的電子郵件位址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *

Chinese
English Japanese Korean Chinese
滾動到頂部

提升產品選擇指南

點擊下方下載我們最新的產品選擇指南。

神秘

SOC Octal 500 MHz集成引腳電子/ DAC / PPMU /偏移校正

下載請求。請填寫下面的請求以接收我們的神秘數據表。

Europa ISL55180
PDF數據表

謝謝你填寫我們的表格。點擊下面的按鈕下載我們的PDF數據表。

Challenges involved in 5G Testing

Introduction

The imminent large-scale rollout of 5G technology imposes new and tough challenges for designers of PCB, network equipment and electronic devices in general. 5G will not only represent an increase in data rates, but it will be a real revolution, with latency times reduced up to 1ms and the use of millimeter waves (mmWave) to support greater bandwidth. PCBs for 5G mobile and network devices must be able to simultaneously manage higher digital data rates and higher frequencies, pushing mixed signal design to its limit. 5G applications will also pose a variety of new challenges for the engineers developing automated test equipment (ATE). Compared to the current 4G mobile network, the rollout of 5G will force designers to rethink the layout of PCBs used in mobile devices, data transmission networks and IoT infrastructure. Ensuring signal integrity at every point on the board represents one of the most difficult challenges imposed by 5G testing. Due to the presence of mixed signals, it will be necessary to prevent EMI between the analog and digital sections of the board, verifying that the FCC EMC requirements are met.

Impact of 5G features on testing

Transition from 4G to 5G network will not only result in a substantial improvement in data transmission rates and greater bandwidth availability but will also introduce new features that are destined to radically change many aspects of our lives. 5G network aims to provide 10-20x faster data rates (up to 1 Gbps), an increase in traffic of up to 1000x and an increase of up to 10x in the number of connections per square kilometer. Latency will be very low, of the order of 1ms, about ten times lower than that obtainable with a 4G network. Low latency is essential for the implementation of applications with real-time behavior, such as virtual reality and augmented reality (VR/AR), machine-to-machine (M2M) communication systems and autonomous vehicle infrastructure sensors.

5G networks will operate on a much wider frequency range than was available with previous mobile technologies. Printed circuits intended for mobile devices and network equipment will have to simultaneously manage high speed digital signals and high frequency RF signals, pushing mixed signal design to its limits. While 4G network uses frequencies between 600 MHz and 5.925 GHz, 5G network will significantly expand its upper frequency limit, pushing itself into the millimeter wave (mmWave) band. Bandwidth per channel is also an important factor affecting the design and testing of 5G PCBs and devices. While in 4G network the bandwidth per channel was equal to 20 MHz (limited to 200 kHz in IoT devices), in the fifth generation mobile network we will have a bandwidth per channel equal to 100 MHz for frequencies below 6 GHz and 400 MHz for frequencies above 6 GHz.

PCBs designed for 5G applications will require analog and digital components capable of operating at very high frequencies and data rates, whose reliability and efficiency can only be guaranteed through effective thermal management. Temperature monitoring is therefore another relevant factor for assessing a correct behavior of the PCB or device.

5G device testing

The performance requirements imposed by 5G technology will create unprecedented challenges in the testing of integrated circuits, System-On-Chip (SoC), PCBs, mobile devices and network equipment. Most 5G NR (New Radio) installations will use the 3.5 GHz frequency and the 28 GHz to 29 GHz frequency range. Both of these frequency ranges are new to the cellular network and will require architectural changes and modifications to radio access techniques. The ability to achieve greater network capacity and higher transmission data rates will require the use of advanced technologies, such as massive MIMO (multiple-input/multiple-output) and beamforming.

While still in the early stages of deployment, 5G technology is gaining momentum, posing urgent questions about how and at what cost to test mmWave devices used in different RF front-end module architectures and networking equipment. In addition, mmWave signals essentially propagate in the line-of-sight direction and are more subject to atmospheric attenuation than sub-6 GHz bands, resulting in the need to perform accurate tests capable of covering all operational scenarios. Phased array antennas, required to support advanced features such as beamforming, will benefit from the small size to allow for multiple antenna elements on the same PCB. The main challenge will be to reduce parasitics between the antenna and the low noise amplifier (LNA) on the receiving side, and with the power amplifier on the transmitting side. The fulfillment of the requirements must also be tested on the antenna, also using OTA (Over-The-Air) techniques. The use of millimeter waves will create new challenges for test systems. First of all, it will be necessary to reduce the distance that separates the test hardware and the cooling system from the probe environment, in order to minimize the particularly high-power losses created at mmWave frequencies. Additionally, testing boards and modules with integrated antenna will require a different approach, bearing in mind that in some cases only over-the-air communication between the test system and the DUT will be possible.

ATE tools

The complexity of the required compliance testing is growing exponentially with each new generation of mobile technology. Release 14 of 3GPP (which already contained some pre-5G functionality) specified about 15,000 tests, Release 15 (partial 5G) about 300,000 tests, whereas Release 16 (full 5G) will introduce additional tests. As the number of required tests goes up, the need for automated test systems increases, capable of supporting high frequencies and speeds and easily configurable. Automated Test Equipment (ATEs) are essential to ensure the proper functioning of PCBs, SoCs or individual components used in the implementation of the 5G network.

ElevATE Semiconductor is a leading company which provides world class test integrated circuits (ICs) that address the industry’s most complex ATE challenges. Designing state of the art chips, ElevATE delivers the highest density, lowest power ATE solutions available. ElevATE products can be grouped into four main categories, depending on the technology on which they are based:

  • integrated pin electronics products – ElevATE is the market leader in low power, high density integrated pin electronics. Developed in a pure CMOS technology, these products enable customers to develop next generation high density instruments with increased parallelism fro reduced cost and improved system reliability;
  • integrated DPS products – these Device Under Test (DUT) power supply solutions incorporate up to 8 independent DUT Power Supply Unit (DPS). The interface, the control, and the I/O are digital, while all analog circuitry is inside the chip. A single chip is able to provide a complete DPS solution;
  • integrated PMU/VI products – Parametric Measurement Units and Virtual Instruments provide best in class density as high as 8 channels per chip and voltage up to 60V. PMI and VI products are cost-sensitive solutions that provide both voltage and current source and measurement capability for a wide range of applications;
  • integrated high voltage products – based on a highly integrated dual channel wide voltage System-on-a-Chip (SoC) pin electronics solution, these products incorporate every analog function, along with some digital support functionality, required on a per channel basis for Automated Test Equipment.

Among ElevATE portfolio solutions is the Venus 4 (ISL55161), a highly integrated SoC incorporating a dual channel 400MHz/800Mbps pin electronics differential driver and comparator, active load, timing deskew, PMU and DAC. Available in a 64-Lead 10mm x 10mm TQFP and in a 64-Lead 9mmx9mm QFN package, the SoC features a Pdq ≤ 500mW/Channel @ 11V Operation.

VENUS 4

Figure 1: Venus 4 (ISL55161)

The SoC, whose block diagram is shown in Figure 2, is particularly suitable for applications such as Automated Test Equipment (ATE), instrumentation and ASIC verifiers.

venus designs

Figure 2: Venus 4 block diagram

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

English
Chinese Japanese Korean English
Scroll to Top

ElevATE Product Selection Guide

Click below to download our latest product selection guide.

Mystery

SOC Octal 500 MHz Integrated Pin Electronics/DAC/PPMU/Deskew

Download request. Please fill in the request below to receive our Mystery Datasheet.

Europa ISL55180
PDF DataSheet

Thanks for filling out our form. Click on the button below to download our PDF Datasheet.